A voice for living well with Type 1 Diabetes
Reed On Diabetes: About Reed

Hi – I’m Reed Garrett and welcome to my blog on living with diabetes – since Jan 9, 1963.

I was diagnosed with diabetes when I was 3 years old.  My first memory is a hospital nurse showing how to give an insulin injection.  I know, what a first memory.

As for family, mine hit the diabetes lottery.  Our son was diagnosed at age 16. Two of my wife’s sisters were diagnosed at ages 6 and 12.  Katie has three children, two of which were diagnosed at 18 months and age 6.  Kelly – who this site is dedicated to – died of diabetes complications at 35.  My sister, Jennifer, has identical twin boys and one, Alec, was diagnosed at age 14.  Finally, my sister’s oldest son’s wife, Kimmie, was diagnosed at age 23.    I don’t know about you, but for me, eight is enough!

As for Reed on Diabetes, it started as a means of thanking those that helped my life’s journey with diabetes.  There’s an entry for every year I’ve lived with type 1 in the Gratitude section.

  • As I wrote them, seven themes emerged that form the Living Well model that you’ll find on the home page. (They also form the site’s categories.)
  • A Dailies section with my thoughts on a wide swath of topics living with the big D.
  • The Business of Diabetes section is the intersection of my life experiences with diabetes and business.


Full disclosure on my approach to living with diabetes.  I have fought it (especially in the first 2-3 decades), learned to run with it, and am finding a voice for it.  I don’t have much patience for pity parties.  I’d rather spend time finding ways to live a more productive and healthy life – with diabetes.

An important part of my learning is that diabetes is unique and requires a relationship between a patient and medical professional to develop a personalized treatment plan. One size doesn’t fit all and nothing on this site should be construed as medical advice.

Here’s to living well with diabetes … Read on!


In case you want to know more about me …

  • I was born and raised in metro Kansas City. At 25, I moved to Atlanta where I met my wife, Kendra, and our son was born.  We then moved to Memphis and returned to KC where we now live.
  • As for work, a foundation in numbers, a couple of business degrees, and experience at several high-growth businesses developed my business acumen and skills in delivering the customer experience.
  • At times I can be wired tight and that energy moves into faith, exercise, mindfulness, music, and sports (I am life-long Royals and Chiefs fan).
  • I can get ‘into the details’ and since the 1980s that’s meant lots of finger sticks, data, better meds and devices that have improved my quality of life.